MaPomDen health And Diet Blog
The Complementary Alternative Medicine, Natural Health And Diets Blog

Gluten Free Shabbat Desserts

0 20

The perfect Sabbath dessert doesn’t have to have wheat. There are many delicious gluten free desserts from simple to decadent that are sure to be enjoyed! With a little creativity and experimentation, the sweet satisfaction comes.

When choosing an alternative Sabbath dessert, think about whether you’re trying to create a gluten-free version of a recipe or want to make something that doesn’t call for wheat at all. For example, are you trying to bake a perfect gluten-free cookie that has all the properties of a wheat flour cookie, or would you settle for mango sorbet?

If you’re risk-averse, choose the recipe that never calls for wheat. Choose from fresh fruit, sorbets, mousse or meringue cookies. This is a no-fail method. You won’t miss the gluten because it was never meant to be there. You can either make your own or buy ready made sorbets and ice cream (should be dairy free if eating after a meat meal).

You May Like These

Another option is to purchase gluten-free baked desserts from a specialty bakery.

You can also make gluten-free cookies, brownies and cakes from special mixes. You should ensure that the mixture and all ingredients are dairy-free if you plan to serve the product after a meat (meaty) Shabbat meal.

Frozen gluten-free products can be a lifesaver for a quick Sabbath dessert. Just fill and bake.

Are you really adventurous? Are you willing to take the risk of baking gluten-free? Although more effort is required, the results can be very rewarding. Choose your recipes wisely and seek multiple rave reviews whenever possible. Do you have the necessary ingredients in your kitchen? If not, do you know where to get them (health section in supermarket, specialty store, ordering online)? Experiment with different flours until you find the flavor and texture you want (be patient and keep trying). Alternative flours can be made from: amaranth, arrowroot, corn, fava, hemp, quinoa, rice, sorghum, soy, and tapioca. A combination of flours usually works best.

Passover recipes can be a treasure trove as many people avoid wheat (other than matzah) during the holiday season. If the label says non-broken, it’s gluten-free. If the recipe includes Matzo Meal, Farfel or Matzo Pie Meal then all bets will be void. For Passover, stock up on your favorite gluten-free products (a great idea for soy and corn allergies, too).

If you have multiple food allergies, you should be aware that just because a food is wheat-free doesn’t mean it’s safe for all food allergies. On the contrary, many gluten-free baked goods contain tree nuts and eggs. Check ingredients for allergens before choosing a recipe or store-bought product. Searches for may also include statements that may indicate cross-contamination, trace amounts of allergens, or shared equipment. There are a few companies that have special facilities and do not manufacture allergenic products. Remember that you are paying a premium for these specialty products.

Whether you choose a ready-made gluten-free dessert for your Shabbat meal or make your own, the results can be delicious. The only limitation is your imagination.

Thanks to Tamar Warga

Leave a comment
Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest health and diet news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More